Click picture to zoom

17.69 €

Madrigals for 5 and 6 voices (1583-84)

A canon at the Florentine basilica of San Lorenzo from 1562, organist and maestro di cappella to the Grand Duke of the Medici from 1574, listed in the “Ruolo de' Salariati” (register of salaried employees) at the court from 1586, Cristofano Malvezzi (Lucca 1543 - Florence 1599) was also the author of a limited number of madrigals, all published toward the end of his career and not all extant. Indeed, the Secondo Libro a 5 voci of 1590 has been lost entirely, while the only two collections which have survived (Il Primo Libro a 5 of 1583, dedicated to the Grand Duke Francesco I, and Il Primo Libro a 6 of 1584) appeared after the unicum of instrumental music (extant in an edition from 1577) which contains nine ricercars for keyboard. Certainly Malvezzi’s contributions to a few well-known Florentine intermedii, staged for lavish Medici celebrations and weddings, have been more thoroughly studied.

ask for more info

Cod.: TC.541301
Composer: CRISTOFANO MALVEZZI (1543-1599)
Performers: MUSICA FIGURATA – su strumenti d'epoca soprano: Santina Tomasello alto: Alessandro Carmignani tenore: Paolo Fanciullacci e Luciano Bonci basso: Marcello Vargetto flauto Lapo Bramanti trombone: Piero Calligari, Mauro Morini, David Yacus organo e cembalo: Stefano Lorenzetti
Edition: February 2004