Click picture to zoom

17.69 €

MARENZIO LUCA (1553-1599)
Mottetti a due e tre cori

L uca Marenzio was born in Coccaglio, in the province of Brescia in 1553 andhe died in 1599 in Rome. He was probably the most important artistic figure in the field of polyphony in the last twenty years of the sixteenth century. Not all of Marenzio's sacred music is extant, partially as a result of its being overshadowed by his extraordinarily successful madrigals. In the nineteenth century, the scholar Fétis listed five original editions of religious works, but only two of these--the Motecta festorum totius anni (1585) and the posthumous Sacraecantiones (1616)-are still preserved. A second book of motets for fourvoices (1588), a collection of antiphons for six voices (1595) and a posthumous collection of polychoral motets for twelve voices (1614) have since disappeared. Fortunately, a vestige of this remarkable repertoire is preserved invarious manuscripts and prints, dateable from approximately 1590 to the first decades of the seventeenth century.

ask for more info

Cod.: TC.551303
Composer: MARENZIO LUCA (1553-1599)
Performers: Progetto Musica - cantus: Simona Nicolo, Maria Francesca Garbaccio; altus: Monica Tressoldi, Mara Colombo; tenor: Giovanni Fiandino, Mauro Bonfanti; bassus: Carlo Cavagna, Domenico Monetta; violino: Davide Monti; viola alto: Fabio Francia; viola tenore: Massimo Vivaldi; basso di violino: Diego Cerofolini; viola da gamba: Luca Franco Ferrari; violone: Roberto Bevilaqua; cornetto: Alberto Rossi; tromba naturale: Alessio Molinari; trombone alto: Roberta Sangalli; trombone tenore: Mauro Sangalli; organo: Silvano Arioli
Edition: 1998