François Couperin (1668-1733)

François Couperin’s three Concerts are part of a cycle of 14 works printed in two series by Boivin et Le Clerc. The first series includes the first four concerts and appeared in 1722 under the title «Concerts Royaux … qui . Conviennent non seulement au Clavecin, maís aussy au Violon, à la Flûte, au Hautbois, à la Viole et au Basson»; the second was published in 1724 and was entitled «Les Goúts Réùnis ou Nouveaux Concerts à l’usage de toutes les sortes d’Instruments de Musique». The three «Concerts» represent three different aspects of Couperin’s musical production: the third is an exemplary homage to the French tradition of dance suites; the ninth is one of the most extraordinary examples of that genre inappropriately referred to as «descriptive»; and the fourteenth is a synthesis of the results obtained by Couperin in his use of certain compositional techniques typical of Italian instrumental music in general and of that of Corelli in particular.


da / from Concerts Royaux, 1722

Troisième Concert
1. Prélude (Lentement) 2:09
2. Allemande (Légèrement) 2:15
3. Courante 2:22
4. Sarabande (Gravement) 4:55
5. Gavotte 1:53
6. Muzette (Naïvement) 3:13
7. Chaconne (Légèrement) 3:08
Quatorzième Concert
8. Prélude (Gravement) 1:59
9. Allemande (Vivement) 2:13
10. Sarabande (Grave) 3:51
11. Fuguète 2:02

da / from
Les Goûts-réunis ou Nouveaux Concerts, 1724
Neuvième Concert intitulé «Il Ritratto d’Amore»

12. Le Charme (Gracieusement et Gravement) 2:04
13. L’Enjouement (Gayement) 3:11
14. Les Grâce, Courante Françoise 2:53
15. Le je ne say quoy (Gayement) 2:00
16. La Vivacité 3:01
17. La Noble Fierté, Sarabande (Gravement) 3:33
18. La Douceur (Amoureusement) 3:10
19. L’Et Cætera ou Menuet 2:57
  • Composer: François Couperin (1668-1733)
  • Performers: Claudio Rufa, traversiere · Paolo Pandolfo, viola da gamba

    Rinaldo Alessandrini, harpsichord

  • Musicological Text: Francesco Maschio
  • Historical Period: Late Baroque
  • Code: TB 660302
  • Edition: July 2013
  • Barcode: 8007194105605
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 19
  • Total duration: 00:52:49
  • Notes: Tactus Serie Bianca · Strumenti Storici

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search