Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)

The second half of the eighteenth century witnessed the widespread popularity in Germanic and Hapsburg regions of a particular type of wind ensemble of varying forces known as Harmonie. Much musical entertainment from this period was destined for such an ensemble, as well as for mixed forces comprised of strings and winds. The repertoire of musical genres designed to entertain eighteenth-century society consisted of divertissements, cassations, serenades, and nocturnes, performed for the most part outdoors, as well as “dining music” played at important banquets, and Harmoniemusik heard at parties and ceremonies. Such music “for consumption” was greatly in vogue at the large courts, princely homes and aristocratic salons, alongside other musical performances of an implicitly higher status. The tradition of Harmoniemusik dates back to the beginning of the century, for already in 1705 a group of oboes and horns was employed at the Prussian court. The instrumental ensembles were most typically comprised of three or four pairs of winds, especially woodwinds, combined in various ways and reaching a total of ten or twelve instruments: pairs of oboes or clarinets (often both), a pair of bassoons, and pairs of horns and trumpets representing the brass family. Original pieces were performed together with transcriptions of celebrated works such as this adaptation by Wenzel Sedlak of Rossini’s Il Barbiere di Siviglia.


1. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace 6:49
Introduzione Piano pianissimo
2. Moderato 3:11
Cavatina Ecco ridente il cielo
3. Largo 2:16
4. Allegro 1:45
5. Vivace 1:11
Cavatina Largo al factotum
6. Vivace 2:11
Duetto All’idea di quel metallo
7. Allegro maestoso 4:49
8. Allegro 2:21
Cavatina Una voce poco fa
9. Andante 2:08
10. Moderato 3:10
Aria La calunnia è un venticello
11. Allegro 3:24
Duetto Dunque io son
12. Allegro 4:28
13. Marciale 1:26
14. Lento 0:54
15. Allegro 2:08
16. Allegro 1:43
17. Allegro 1:22
Quintetto Pace e gioia
18. Moderato 1:37
19. Allegro 1:59
20. Allegro 1:28
Terzetto Ah, qual colpo inaspettato
21. Andante 4:47
22. Allegro 1:29
Variazioni di Madame Catalani
23. Andante con due variazioni 3:54
Finale Di sì felice innesto
24. Polonoise 2:40
  • Composer: Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
  • Performers: Ensemble Italiano di fiati
    Paolo Pollastri
  • Musicological Text: Marcella Matacena
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TB 791807
  • Edition: September 2014
  • Barcode: 8007194105681
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 24
  • Total duration: 01:00:24
  • Notes: Serie Bianca · Incisioni Storiche
    Sostituisce il titolo TC.791801

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search