The project to record all surviving Italian medieval instrumental dances continues with this second volume, almost entirely dedicated to the fascinating legacy contained in a famous codex preserved in the British Library, and catalogued as Additional 29987.
Scholars are unanimous in placing the origins of this codex in central Italy, specifically between Umbria and southern Tuscany, despite the presence of compositions by authors working in Florence.
This complete recording has offered us the opportunity to present certain particularly significant Estampite, such as La Belicha, Tre Fontane, Principio di Virtù, Parlamento, and In Pro.
The starting point of our interpretation was a careful listening to the complex melodies of these pieces, as well as a faithful reading of the music as it appears notated in the codex.
These melodies seem to reinforce the impression already mentioned in Volume I, i.e., that these compositions belong to the genre Estampita, but have achieved a level of maturity such that they have little in common structurally with the dance after which they were named.
Within melodies that seem at first to be uniform and repetitive, one can distinguish melodic cells, some of which are complete unto themselves while others appear to have been conceived in the form of a dialogue, perhaps for more than one instrument.
The choice of instrumentation for these pieces, therefore, has favored the “horizontal” dimension: we have identified certain cardinal points and entrusted the results to diverse instruments, or to a dialogue between a soloist and a “tutti” ensemble.
This has allowed us to highlight a melodic discourse which would otherwise be obscured, and bring out its cantabile qualities.
Moreover, such a practice was in fact quite common in the traditional repertoires of the areas encircling the Mediterranean.


Disco n.1
  1 - Belicha [Additional 29987] (6:25)
Tre fontane [Italian 14th Century]
  2 - Tre fontane [Additional 29987] (6:54)
Danca Amorosa
  3 - Danca amorosa - Troto [Additional 29987] (4:09)
Saltarello I
  4 - Saltarello 1 [Additional 29987] (5:01)
Principio di virtu
  5 - Principio di virtu [Additional 29987] (11:13)
Saltarello II - Trotto
  6 - Saltarello 2 [Additional 29987] (1:33)
Parlamento (LEMS 8016)
  7 - Parlamento [Additional 29987] (4:10)
Chanconeta tedescha
  8 - Chanconeta tedescha 1 [Additional 29987] (2:50)
In Pro
  9 - In pro [Additional 29987] (8:32)
Chanconeta tedesca 3
  10 - Chanconeta tedesca 3 [Additional 29987] (5:08)
Lamento di Tristano - La rotta
  11 - Lamento di Tristano e Sua Rotto [Additional 29987] (4:19)
  • Composer: ANONIMI
  • Performers: Anima Mundi Consort – Gaspare Antonio Bartelloni: Flutes, flauti di canna, gralla. Ugo Galasso: Flutes, flauti di canna, chalumeau, piffaro, bombarda, gaita. Bernardo Barzagli: Tromba marina, ribeca, viella. Daniele Poli: Liuto, synphonia, harp. Pino Marcogliese: ‘Ud. Piero Callegari: Tromba da tirarsi, bombarda. Kumiko Konishi: Organo portativo. Massimo Paoletti: Riqq, tammorra, crotali, tamburello salentino, tabor, naqqari. Luca Brunelli Felicetti: Darabukka, bendir, tabor, tar, daff, davul, naqqari, bells, salterio, conductor
  • Historical Period: Middle Ages
  • Code: TC 300003
  • Edition: NOVEMBER 2006
  • Barcode: 8007194103816
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 11
  • Total duration: 01:00:14

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search