Vincenzo Capirola (1474 – dopo il 1548)

This CD is dedicated to Vincenzo Capirola (1474 – ca. 1550). It is intended both as a tribute and as a testimony: a tribute to one of the most important composers of the Italian early sixteeth century instrumental music; a testimony to the transformations that the music language brings to completion in one of the most extraordinary and rich periods in history of music. Actually, in the very first decades of the century composers begin to write and publish specific instrumental pieces. As a consequence, instrumental music starts to emerge from the shadows of the medieval period. This new attention to instruments (such as organ, viola, harpsichord and particularly lute) produces a creative flurry of new forms and languages which will characterize all the following instrumental music. Vincenzo Capirola plays a leading role in this flourishing phase of instrumental repertoire thanks to his manuscript dating back to 1517 containing dances, ricercars and transcriptions of vocal pieces of contemporary polyphonists. His writing has a strong originality, especially in his ricercars which have an amazing breadth of composition in the alternation of conflicting moments (such as fast virtuoso scales and slow calm chord successions). Besides, his manuscript is richly decorated giving an additional value from an aesthetic point of view. Thus, in these pages we find a marriage of painting and music according to the Renaissance conception which cultivates and pursues the unity of arts.


1. Ti[entalora] baleto da balar 3:03
2. Canto bello 3:29
3. Padoana ala francese 4:00
4. De to biens plaene (H. van Ghizeghem) 2:29
5. Recercar V 3:35
6. Non ti spiaqua lascoltar 2:51
7. Recercar XIII 2:42
8. Stavasi amor dormendo soto a un fagio (B. Tromboncino) 1:55
9. O mia cieca e dura sorte (M. Cara) - Che farala per so coa (M. Cara) 3:09
10. Recercar XI ala spagnola - Spagna seconda - Recercare XI ala spagnola 5:00
11. Padoana descordata 3:29
12. Recercar XII 4:47
13. Sancta Ternitas (A. de Fevin) 3:31
14. Recercar IV 2:55
15. Recercar I 2:46
16. Gentil princep 2:24
17. Recercar VIII 1:29
18. La vilanella 2:35
19. Recercar VI 3:39
20. Et in terra pax (J. des Prez) 3:05
21. Recercar X 0:43
22. Qui tolis pechata mondi (J. des Prez) 3:23
  • Composer: Vincenzo Capirola (1474 – dopo il 1548)
  • Performers: Paolo Cherici, lute and vihuela
  • Musicological Text: Pinuccia Carrer
  • Historical Period: Humanism and Renaissance
  • Code: TC 470301
  • Edition: June 2014
  • Barcode: 8007194105285
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 22
  • Total duration: 01:07:05
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search