The Missa Æterna Christi Munera for 4 voices, the first of the series, is often performed for its brevity, simplicity and variety.
It belongs to the Liber Quintus Missarum, composed in 1590 and dedicated to Duke Wilhelm V of Bavaria; the collection consists of 8 masses–4 for 4 voices, 2 for 5 and 2 for 6.
Written in the fifth mode (with one flat in the key signature), this composition follows the style of the cyclical mass (antiphonal or hymnal), so called because of the recurring themes, drawn from an antiphon or hymn, which appear throughout the entire composition, each time transfigured and molded to express best the characteristics of the piece.
This mass is based on the Gregorian chant of the Morning Hymn from the Feast of the Apostles (Commune Apostolorum).
Palestrina created various themes from this melody which may be found throughout the composition and which give it great expression and unity. There follows a series of motets chosen from his best-known works, which are linked to the most important feasts of the liturgical year.


Disco n.1
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da
Masses, Book 5: Missa Aeterna Christi munera
  1 - Kyrie (2:27)
  2 - Gloria (3:26)
  3 - Credo (6:24)
  4 - Sanctus (5:23)
  5 - Agnus Dei I (2:28)
  6 - Agnus Dei II (2:54)
Alma redemptoris mater
  7 - Alma redemptoris mater (2:45)
Super flumina Babylonis
  8 - Super flumina Babylonis (3:31)
Sicut cervus
  9 - Sicut cervus (3:20)
Dies sanctificatus
  10 - Dies sanctificatus (3:54)
O bone Jesu a 8
  11 - O bone Jesu a 8 (1:39)
Missa Brevis
  12 - Kyrie (3:24)
  13 - Gloria (4:07)
  14 - Credo (7:24)
  15 - Sanctus - Benedictus (5:01)
  16 - Agnus Dei I (2:38)
  17 - Agnus Dei II (3:23)
  • Performers: CHAPPELLE MUSICALE DE LA TRINITE’ DES MONTS – soprani: Laura Calzolari, Carla Ferrari, Zoila Mendoza, Keiko Morikawa; contralti : Eva Lusnia, Marta Zanazzi, Clemi Zarrillo; tenori : Corrado Amici, Giuseppe Di Adamo, Anselmo Fabiani, Renato Moro; bassi : Edoardo Antonucci, Antonio Mameli, Alberto Tapia, Roberto Valenti.
  • Historical Period: Humanism and Renaissance
  • Code: TC 521602
  • Edition: 1999
  • Barcode: 8007194101461
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:04:17

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search