Andrea Falconieri (1585-1656) · Filippo Coppola (1628-1680)

Andrea Falconieri and Filippo Coppola, who followed him in the role of master of the Royal Music Chapel of Naples in 1656, are the protagonists of this picturesque anthology of dances, chaconnes, follie and passacaglia, in which the authors, honoring the Iberian musical art (from which many forms of dance are coming), staging compositions from purely theatrical taste, with main characters and situations drawn from the Greek mythology (the Rape of Proserpine) and demons and spirits of the underworld.
The use of text in an unlikely and maccheronica Spanish language, helps to create a medley of colors and chiaroscuro typical of the early Baroque: period in which colors and shades create that tone that is as important as the music.
The Cappella Musicale di San Giacomo Maggiore in Bologna and the choir of the Accademia dello Spirito Santo in Ferrara here are delivering very fresh interpretations with a great attention to the performance practice of the time.


1. Bayle de los dichos Diabolos 1:40
2. Sinfonia 1:56
3. Oy celebren todos 2:06
4. Battalla de Barabaso yerno de Satanas 3:50
5. Pietad 2:07
6. Solemnes jubilos 6:42
7. Rinen, y pelean entre Berzebillo, con Satanasillo, y Caruf, y Pantul 3:15
8. Il Spiritillo brando 1:08
9. Y todos unidos 0:53
10. Coro de Proserpina y Salen, Ciane, y Megera 1:16
11. La Diamantina 2:59
12. Cara è la rosa 2:26
13. Brando dicho el Melo 1:20
14. La Xaveria Buelta echa para El Senior Conde Xaverio 2:17
15. Corriente dicha la Mota, echa por Don Pedro dela Mota 1:32
16. Folias echa para mi Senora dona Tarolilla de Carallenos 4:17
17. Passacalle 3:45
18. La suave melodia 2:16
19. La suave melodia, su corrente 1:34
20. O vezzosetta dalle chiome d’oro 1:22
21. Ciaccona (L’Eroica) 2:08
22. Fantasia Echa para el muy Reverendo Padre Falla 2:46
23. Il Rosso Brando 1:43
24. Cara è la rosa [strumentale / instrumental] 1:37
  • Composer: Andrea Falconieri (1585-1656) · Filippo Coppola (1628-1680)
  • Performers: Coro Polifonico Santo Spirito
    Cappella Musicale di S. Giacomo Maggiore
    Roberto Cascio, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Roberto Cascio
  • Historical Period: Early Baroque
  • Code: TC 640001
  • Edition: July 2016
  • Barcode: 8007194105865
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 24
  • Total duration: 00:57:06
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording (Tracks 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 20, 24)
    Historical Instruments
  • Texts: Italian Seicento “in Spanish style”

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search