Carlo Antonio Marino (1670-1735)

With this second CD (the first is: TC671301) Tactus continues the re-discovery of the instrumental music by Carlo Antonio Marino, violin virtuoso from Bergamo that at the end of the 17th and the beginning of the 18th century enjoyed great international fame.
This is confirmed by the fact that his compositions had been published (without authorization) by one of the major editors of the time, Estienne Roger from Amsterdam.
The writing by Marino is marked by his solid compositional skill and innovative freshness; almost all his production is dedicated to Sonatas and Concertos for strings and continuo.
The “Carlo Antonio Marino baroque Ensemble” directed by Natale Arnoldi, dedicated many years to the discovery of this composer and on this recordings exceptionally relying on Stefano Montanari, by many considered the greatest baroque violin virtuoso worldwide.


1. Concerto a cinque
Adagio, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro 7:55

2. Concerto a cinque
con due violini obbligati
Largo e spiccato, Allegro, Adagio, Allegro 10:10

3. Sonata Seconda a tre Op. VI
Largo, Allegro, Largo, Allegro 6:36

4. Sonata Quarta a tre Op. VI
Grave, Allegro, Adagio assai, Allegro 6:00

5. Sonata Sesta a tre Op. VI
Grave, Allegro, Grave, Allegro 5:32

6. Sonata Ottava a quattro Op. VI
Allegro, Largo assai,
Allegro, Adagio, Allegro 7:48

7. Sonata Decima a quattro Op. VI
Allegro, Adagio, Allegro, Allegro 3:12

8. Sonata Dodicesima a quattro Op. VI
Largo, Allegro-Adagio, Allegro 5:29
  • Composer: Carlo Antonio Marino (1670-1735)
  • Performers: Stefano Montanari, solo violin
    Ensemble “Carlo Antonio Marino” · Natale Arnoldi, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Natale Arnoldi
  • Historical Period: Late Baroque
  • Code: TC 671302
  • Edition: April 2016
  • Barcode: 8007194106329
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 8
  • Total duration: 00:53:12
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording · Historical Instruments

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search