Andrea Zani (1696-1757) · Romano Antonio Piacentino (XVIII sec.) · Giuseppe Torti (XVIII sec.) · Giacinto Schiatti (?-1776)

The sixteenth and seventeenth centuries were important for the development of the transverse flute: the technical improvements introduced by French and German flutists made the instrument become more accurate in its tuning, more powerful in its sound, and more agile in quick passages, so much so that it superseded the recorder and began to compete with the violin, even replacing it in some sonatas or concertos. Virtuoso flutists such as Philibert Rebillè, Michel de la Borre, Pierre Gabriel Buffordin, Michel Blavet, Johann Joachim Quantz and his noble pupil Frederick II of Prussia were undoubtedly a source of inspiration for the composers of the baroque and galant periods who composed music for the transverse flute and produced pieces that became landmarks in the history of music; but it was also thanks to the diffusion of the instrument among amateurs that the transverse flute repertoire was enriched by an extraordinary number of compositions, many of which were exquisite works. This is the case of these five unpublished concertos by Italian authors – some of them totally unknown, now rediscovered by the Baroque Ensemble “Carlo Antonio Marino”, led by Natale Arnoldi, and by the flute of Raffaele Trevisani.


Andrea Zani (1696-1757)
Concerto a flauto traverso, archi e basso continuo
1. Allegro 3:36
2. Andante 5:17
3. Allegro 4:24

Romano Antonio Piacentino (XVIII sec.)
Concerto per il Traverso [1750]
4. Allegretto 5:11
5. Andante 4:15
6. Allegro 3:21

Giuseppe Torti (XVIII sec.)
Concerto di fluta traversiera [1765]
7. Vivace 4:26
8. Adagio 5:06
9. Allegro 5:07

Giacinto Schiatti (?-1776)
Concerto per il flauto traverso [1765]
10. Allegro moderato 5:29
11. Adagio 3:55
12. Allegro non presto 6:03

Concerto per Flauto traverso [1750]
13. Allegro 5:25
14. Adagio 3:58
15. Allegro 6:28
  • Composer: Andrea Zani (1696-1757) · Romano Antonio Piacentino (XVIII sec.) · Giuseppe Torti (XVIII sec.) · Giacinto Schiatti (?-1776)
  • Performers: Raffaele Trevisani, flute
    Ensemble Baroque «C.A. Marino»
    Natale Arnoldi, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Natale Arnoldi
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 720002
  • Edition: October 2018
  • Barcode: 8007194106879
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 15
  • Total duration: 01:12:10
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording · Strumenti Storici

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search