Giuseppe Maria Cambini (1746-1825c.)

It is quite likely that Giuseppe Cambini influenced the Parisian milieu with his typically Italian originality.
He is regarded as a pre-Romantic composer not only because he anticipated the era of Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann and Chopin, but above all because of his pensive search for expression.
This is the “Italian-style Romanticism” that Boccherini had forestalled in his isolation at the Spanish court.
This music belongs to a “graceful, light, rococo style” that is not suitable for expressing the dramatic aspect of emotions, except in a few passages in minor tonality: the harpsichord predominates, the violin and oboe accompany it, with occasional solo parts, and the cello doubles the bass.
The handwritten word “quartetti” therefore indicates a style that is different from that of the Baroque sonata a tre, where the harpsichord and the cello were confined to the accompaniment.
The trio – originally for flute, oboe and bassoon – belongs to a collection of six trios, op. 45, that are very well-crafted, brilliant, with occasional hints of sadness. Rather than pre-Romantic, this music is the climax of the classical chamber-music era.


Cinque quartetti per cembalo concertato, violino, oboe e violoncello
n. 1 in Do maggiore
Andantino 5:49
Presto 4:32

n. 2 in Do maggiore
Allegro 6:41
Allegro grazioso con variazioni 5:48

n. 3 in La maggiore
Allegro 8:52
Tempo di minuetto con variazioni 4:59

n. 4 in Sol maggiore
Andante con moto 6:22
Presto 4:04

n. 5 in Fa maggiore
Allegro 7:38
Tempo di minuetto con variazioni 3:42

Trio n. 5 Op. 45 in sol maggiore per violino, oboe e violoncello
Allegro con vaghezza 4:58
Andantino con moto, grazioso 8:29
  • Composer: Giuseppe Maria Cambini (1746-1825c.)
  • Performers: Sans Souci Ensemble

    Marcello De Fant, violin · Giuseppe Nalin, oboe

    Serena Mancuso, cello · Marco Vincenzi, harpsichord.

  • Musicological Text: Giuseppe Fochesato
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 740303
  • Edition: January 2013
  • Barcode: 8007194105322
  • Set: 1
  • Notes: Ensemble with Historical Instruments

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search