Between the end of the 18th century and the first three decades of the 19th, there was a great interest in Italy in the chamber ensemble of quartet with flute.
This was especially true among opera composers such Paisiello (see his Sei divertimenti) and Mercadante (the author of various quartets, partly published and partly in manuscript), but also among writers who were primarily active in the field of instrumental music: Cambini (eighteen quartets, op. 9, 3 and 24) and Viotti (Quartetti op. 22, published between 1801 and 1806).
Another important composer of this genre was Alessandro Rolla (Pavia 1757- Milan 1841), who has handed down to posterity nearly a dozen pieces for this formation, part of a catalogue of almost six hundred works.
Rolla was a widely admired musician in Milanese circles, both as orchestral conductor at the Teatro alla Scala (1802-1833) and as professor of viola at the Milan Conservatory from the year it was founded in 1808 (as witnessed by the celebrated phrase of Vincenzo Monti: “the exceedingly sweet strings of our Rolla enchant the soul”).
He was an example of the most common type of musician of the time: a guest of aristocratic salons and thus dedicated to producing music for amateurs; a concert soloist, acclaimed in the great theaters; and a pedagogue, anxious to expand the repertoire of his own instrument or provide colleagues or students with the raw material at which to try their hand.


Disco n.1
Rolla, Alessandro
Flute Quartet No. 1 in C Major
  1 - I. Largo (6:22)
  2 - II. Allegretto (4:06)
Flute Quartet No. 2 in E-Flat Major
  3 - I. Largo (6:11)
  4 - II. Minuetto (2:41)
  5 - III. Presto (1:22)
Flute Quartet No. 3 in D Major
  6 - I. Largo (3:43)
  7 - II. Moderato (6:46)
  8 - III. Andantino brillante (3:46)
Flute Quartet No. 4 in E Minor
  9 - I. Moderato (5:33)
  10 - II. Largo cantabile (2:20)
  11 - III. Minuetto (3:58)
Flute Quartet No. 5 in A Major
  12 - I. Largo sostenuto (4:10)
  13 - II. Allegretto (7:01)
  14 - III. Minuetto grazioso (6:08)
Flute Quartet No. 6 in B-Flat Major
  15 - I. Andantino sostenuto (4:37)
  16 - II. Moderato (5:33)
  17 - III. Minuetto (3:47)
  • Performers: Mario Carbotta: flute · Quartetto Erasmus: Giambattista Pianezzola, violin; Maurizio Schiavo, viola; Claudio Frigerio, cello;
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 751805
  • Edition: FEBRUARY 2006
  • Barcode: 8007194103717
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:18:04

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search