Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)

Raffaele Carpino, performer, researcher and historiographer of guitar, already protagonist of the rediscovery of unpublished music by Carulli and Legnani (see Tactus” codes: tc.770302 and tc.791201), offers us in this new work offers us a taste of one of the most significant composers as far as it concerns the nineteenth-century composition for guitar: the virtuoso Mauro Giuliani.The period in which the six guitar works presented in this cd were published includes that of Giuliani’s fortunate stay inVienna, for opuses 49, 52 and 72, that of his stay in Rome, for op. 109, and that of his stay in Naples, for the reduction of the symphony of the opera La Cenerentola.Variazioni, the last work in this cd, was published posthumously. All the pieces have been recorded on the basis of the first editions printed in the nineteenth century, faithfully following all the originally indicated reprises.The instrumental form that prevails in this cd is the theme with variations, which is present in four out of six pieces, i.e. opuses 49, 62, 72 and the posthumously published Variazioni.


1.Variazioni su una canzone nazionale op. 49 10:29
Tema con sei variazioni

2.Variazioni su un tema originale op. 62 7:57
Tema con sei variazioni

3.Variazioni sul duo dall’opera Jeannot et Colin di Nicolò Isouard op. 72 10:44
Tema con otto variazioni

4. Rondò La Caccia op. 109 8:16

5. Sinfonia dall’opera La Cenerentola di Gioacchino Rossini 8:20
Maestoso, Allegro

6.Variazioni op. postuma 10:45
Introduzione, tema con cinque variazioni e finale
  • Composer: Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)
  • Performers: Raffaele Carpino, guitar
  • Musicological Text: Raffaele Carpino
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 780704
  • Edition: October 2020
  • Barcode: 8007194107258
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 6
  • Total duration: 00:56:51

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search