The pieces chosen for this anthology are intended to delineate, in general terms, the “sacred” part of Mercadante’s compositions by observing certain performance modes of the 19th century in use not only by him, but also by composers throughout Italy.In particular, transcription practices were an indispensable procedure that permitted the introduction of specific musical styles into the church. Compositions that were originally written for large ensembles such as orchestras and symphonic bands often needed to be “reduced for organ” when performed at church because it was not easy to recruit and to pay for large groups of instrumentalists.


Disco n.1
Mercadante, Saverio
Messa in B-Flat Major
  1 - Kyrie (3:10)
  2 - Gloria (12:16)
  3 - Credo (11:36)
Tantum ergo
  4 - Tantum ergo (6:25)
Sinfonia su motivi dello Stabat Mater di Rossini
  5 - Sinfonia su motivi dello Stabat Mater di Rossini (13:47)
Sinfonia caratteristica spagnuola No. 1
  6 - Sinfonia caratteristica spagnuola No. 1 (7:54)
Sinfonia, "Omaggio a Bellini"
  7 - Sinfonia, "Omaggio a Bellini" (11:46)
  • Performers: Cœnobium Vocale, coro – Emanuele D’Aguanno, tenore – Gian Luca Zoccatelli, tenore -Yiannis Vassilakis, baritono – Maria Dal Bianco, direttore – Enrico Zanovello, organo – Marco Ruggeri, organo
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 791301
  • Edition: April 2004
  • Barcode: 8007194103151
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 7
  • Total duration: 01:06:54

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search