Franz Liszt (1811-1886) – Bonifacio Maria Krug (1838-1909)

This singular discographic project unites the sacred pianistic work by Franz Liszt to those by Bonifacio Maria Krug, both composers and abbots.
If Franz Liszt is already known to the public, Krug (abbot in the abbey of Montecassino in 1897) is an important discovery proposed by the young and talented pianist Silvia Vaglica assisted by the Benedictine father Fabrizio Messina Cicchetti. Both Liszt and Krug joined with fervor the directions that will later be outlined by the Cecilian movement regarding the issues related to music in the liturgy, and the music proposed in this recording testifies their commitment to bringing the sacred themes out of their customary borders, contrarily to what happened in the middle of the nineteenth century in Italy, when the theatrical style also spread in liturgical compositions.


Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
1. Alleluja S183 3:18
da Armonie Poetiche e Religiose S173
2. Pater Noster 2:22
3. Ave Maria 7:13

Bonifacio Maria Krug (1838-1909)
da Pensieri musicali
La vita di Gesù
4. n. 1 Nazareth - L’Angelo che reca il saluto di Dio alla Vergine 5:42
5. n. 2 Bethlem - L’Angelica melode al Presepe 3:28
6. n. 3 Genesareth - La tempesta contenuta dal Figlio di Dio 7:50
7. n. 4 Gethsemani - L’agonia del Figlio dell’Uomo 7:58
8. n. 5 Golgotha - Il pianto delle Marie 9:24
9. n. 6 Alleluia - La Giubilazione dell’Uomo-Dio Risorto 5:08
  • Composer: Franz Liszt (1811-1886) – Bonifacio Maria Krug (1838-1909)
  • Performers: Silvia Vaglica, piano
  • Musicological Text: Fabrizio Messina Cicchetti
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 810002
  • Edition: November 2018
  • Barcode: 8007194106909
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 9
  • Total duration: 00:52:27
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search