Carlo Munier (1859-1911) · Luigi Bianchi (fine sec. XIX-inizio sec. XX) · Enrico Marucelli (1873-1907) · Giuseppe Bellenghi (1847-1902) · Carlo Graziani-Walter (1851-1927)

A real rarity is offered to us by this album that includes original works for plectrum orchestra, meaning that particular ensemble in which the various orchestral sections are formed by mandolins and instruments derived from it, such as the mandola, the mandoloncello and mandolone, with the addition of guitars, harps, and other plectrum or pizzicato instruments depending on the various situations.
After the time when great composers like Vivaldi, Mozart and Beethoven wrote important pages where the mandolin was the protagonist, from the first decade of the XIX century interest in this instrument progressively diminished.
Yet, starting from the second half of the nineteenth century, throughout Europe spontaneously started many ensembles for plectrum and pizzicato.
After more than a century from their composition, this production wants to propose some suggestive pages of the most representative authors gravitating around Florence, the city that in the XIX century opened the doors to the golden age of the revival of mandolin in Italy and worldwide.
Founded in 1898, the Gino Neri orchestra was the star of that period of splendor, and now represents the oldest plectrum orchestra still preserving and disseminating this repertoire worldwide.


Carlo Munier (1859-1911)
1. Giglio Fiorentino 7:57

Luigi Bianchi (fine sec. XIX-inizio sec. XX)
2. Nebel 3:00

Enrico Marucelli (1873-1907)
3. Valzer Fantastico 7:44

Carlo Munier
4. Preghiera 5:23

Enrico Marucelli
5. Capriccio Zingaresco [Stefano Franzoni, mandolino solista] 6:23

Giuseppe Bellenghi (1847-1902)
6. Souvenir de Florence 4:56

Enrico Marucelli
7. Patrol 3:15

Carlo Graziani-Walter (1851-1927)
8. Dante e Beatrice 5:06

Carlo Munier
9-12. Quartetto in Re Maggiore 12:05
(Allegro deciso - Canzonetta - Andante Sostenuto - Rondò)
  • Composer: Carlo Munier (1859-1911) · Luigi Bianchi (fine sec. XIX-inizio sec. XX) · Enrico Marucelli (1873-1907) · Giuseppe Bellenghi (1847-1902) · Carlo Graziani-Walter (1851-1927)
  • Performers: Ensemble da Camera Gino Neri
    Giorgio Fabbri, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Luca Marco Nistri
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 840001
  • Edition: April 2015
  • Barcode: 8007194106251
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 12
  • Total duration: 00:57:19
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search