A strange fate awaited Respighi: despite having reached the highest summits of the historical twentieth century, his music is still rarely included on concert programs in Italy, and a great deal of it remains unknown to the general public or even forgotten in unpublished manuscripts.
Even more neglected is his production dedicated to the organ, an instrument which Respighi studied at the Liceo Musicale in Bologna from 1893 to 1900, under the guidance of Cesare Dall’Olio (1849 – 1906).
At that time, the institution had in its possession an instrument which had built by Pietro Nacchini in the 18th century (which Giovanni Tebaldini defined as “a barn which calls itself an organ”).
Moreover, the organ curriculum was technically a far cry from that which would be introduced with the reform promoted by Marco Enrico Bossi, the director of the Bolognese Liceo from 1902 to 1911.
The genius of Respighi was nonetheless able to overcome the failings of his training, and the musician’s abilities on the organ were on a par with the great organists of Europe.


Disco n.1
Respighi, Ottorino
3 Pezzi, P. 92
  1 - No. 1. Prelude in D Minor (5:29)
  2 - No. 3. Prelude in A Minor on a Bach Chorale Ich hab mein Sach Gott heimgestellt (4:04)
  3 - No. 2. Prelude in B-Flat Minor on a Bach chorale In dich hab' ich gehoffet, Herr (4:52)
Aria in G Minor, P. 32 (arr. I. Fuser for organ)
  4 - Aria in G Minor, P. 32 (arr. I. Fuser for organ) (6:32)
Preludio in D Minor, P. 56
  5 - Preludio in D Minor, P. 56 (1:20)
Andante in D Minor (completed by L. Salvadori)
  6 - Andante in D Minor (completed by L. Salvadori) (2:24)
  7 - Elevazione (4:16)
Praeludium pro organo pleno
  8 - No. 1 in D Major (1:21)
  9 - No. 2 in D Minor (0:58)
  10 - No. 3 in B-Flat Major (1:59)
  11 - No. 4 in D-Flat Major (1:35)
  12 - No. 5 in D-Flat Major (0:56)
Suite in G Major, P. 58 (1914 version)
  13 - I. Preludio (5:12)
  14 - II. Aria (6:03)
  15 - III. Pastorale (6:08)
  16 - IV. Cantico (7:00)
  • Performers: Andrea Macinanti, organ · Chamber Orchestra Milano Classica · Alfonso Scarano, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Andrea Macinanti
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 871802
  • Edition: 2002
  • Barcode: 8007194102246
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 16
  • Total duration: 01:00:09
  • Notes: No longer available, replaced with TC.871803 new code

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search