Andrea Gabrieli (1533-1585)

While during most of the sixteenth century vocal polyphonic music had steadily focused on a four-part structure, around the fifteen-seventies the number of parts underwent a remarkable increase, particularly in sacred music, all over Italy. In 1560 a six-part composition was still regarded as an unusual piece for special occasions, but in 1580 this number of parts was considered not very high, since in the most important festivities, music formed of eight or more parts was performed, and, particularly in Venice at the end of the century,
pieces formed of no less than twenty or more parts were composed. A typical example of this case is the Concerti published by Giovanni Gabrieli in 1587, one of the cornerstone works of the musical production of the second half of the sixteenth century: many Italian and foreign composers admitted that they had obtained new ideas from this work, where the six- and seven-part pieces appeared to be the most “simple” ones, while the ten-, twelve- and sixteen-part pieces were predominant. The four-part structure, which had been customary up to a few years before, seemed to be obsolete by then. The structure of these polyvocal, often also polychoral, pieces, is not particularly complex. Their appeal consists chiefly in the pursuit of grandeur, the dynamic play of the choral masses, the restless rhythm of the sequences of chords, and the search for a sound that is rich in harmonics. We cannot be sure, on the contrary, of the liturgical use of the six- and seven-part motets contained in this collection.


1. Maria Magdalenae 3:17
2. Maria stabat ad monumentum 3:26
3. Angelus Domini descendit 2:57
4. Hodie Christus natus est 2:44
5. Angelus ad pastores ait 2:25
6. Eructavit cor meum 3:33
7. Isti sunt triumphatores 2:21
8. Beatus vir qui non abiit 2:19
9. Iniquos odio habui 2:59
10. Domine Deus meus 3:32
11. Emendemus in melius 2:57
12. Iudica me Deus 2:55
13. Sancta Maria succurre miseris 2:46
14. O gloriosa Domina 2:55
Missa Vexilla Regis
15. Kyrie 3:45
16. Gloria 6:06
17. Credo 9:27
18. Sanctus 2:54
19. Benedictus 2:50
20. Agnus Dei 4:15
  • Composer: Andrea Gabrieli (1533-1585)
  • Performers: I Cantori di San Marco
    Alice Borciani, Elena Modena, Sopranos
    Julio Fioravante, Alto
    Marco Mustaro, Dino Lüthy, Tenor

    Yiannis Vassilakis , Marcin Wyszkowski, Bass

    Marco Gemmani, conductor

  • Musicological Text: Marco Gemmani
  • Historical Period: Humanism and Renaissance
  • Code: TC 530701
  • Edition: January 2015
  • Barcode: 8007194105612
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 20
  • Total duration: 01:10:23
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording
  • Texts: Messa bassa a San Marco – Missa Vexilla Regis · Mottetti a 6 e 7 voci

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search