Unlike many of his fellow countrymen who had always lived and work in Spain, the Castilian Tomás Luis de Victoria spent many years of his life in Italy, studying and working in colleges and churches in Rome: this period influenced his artistic and musical development considerably.
The works by Tomás Luis de Victoria, on this CD were composed from his early days in 1572 to his maturity 1585.
The motets O magnum mysterium, O sacrum convivium, O vos omnes, Sancta Maria succurre miseris, Senex puerum portabat and Vere languores nostros were published in the book of Motecta for four, five, six and eight voices, published in Venice by Antonio Gàrdano’s sons in 1572.
The motets Gaudent in caelis, Iste sanctus pro lege and O quam gloriosum est regnum are part of the collection of Motecta festorum totius anni cum communi sanctorum for four, five, six and eight voices, published in Rome by Alessandro Gàrdano in 1585 .
The mass mentioned above for four, six and eight voices O quam gloriosum, from the Missarum libri duo, is dedicated to the King of Spain, Philip II and was printed in Rome by Alessandro Gàrdano, in 1583.
The hymns Tristes erant Apostoli, Te Deum laudamus and Veni creator spiritus are from the Hymni totius anni […] cum quattuor Psalmis, were published in Rome by Alessandro Gàrdano in 1581, and are dedicated to Pope Gregorius XIII .


Disco n.1
Anonymous|Victoria, Tomás Luis de
O quam gloriosum est regnum
  1 - O quam gloriosum est regnum (3:21)
Victoria, Tomás Luis de
Missa O quam gloriosum
  2 - Kyrie (2:00)
  3 - Gloria (3:53)
  4 - Credo (6:02)
  5 - Sanctus - Benedictus (4:06)
  6 - Agnus Dei (3:26)
Iste sanctus pro lege
  7 - Iste sanctus pro lege (2:03)
Gaudent in coelis animae Sanctorum
  8 - Gaudent in coelis animae Sanctorum (2:08)
Sancta Maria, succurre miseris
  9 - Sancta Maria, succurre miseris (3:37)
Senex puerum portabat
  10 - Senex puerum portabat (3:08)
O magnum mysterium
  11 - O magnum mysterium (3:00)
O sacrum convivium
  12 - O sacrum convivium (3:22)
Vere languores nostros
  13 - Vere languores nostros (3:36)
O vos omnes
  14 - O vos omnes (3:34)
Tristes erant apostoli
  15 - Tristes erant apostoli (4:23)
Te Deum
  16 - Te Deum (10:49)
Veni Creator Spiritus a 4
  17 - Veni Creator Spiritus a 4 (6:52)
  • Composer: DA VITTORIA T.L.
  • Performers: Vocal Ensemble «Il Convitto Armonico»: Caterina Bernardini, Alessia Bruschi, Lorella Coppa, Chiara Maggi: sopranos · Eleonora Baroncelli, Donatella Gnani, Laura Maggi, Alessandra Nardelli: contraltos · Stefano Baldi, Pino La Rocca, Paolo Mettifogo, Mario Mori: tenors · Enzo Borghetti, Gaetano Canepa, Federico Canese, Daniele Cecchi, Marco Montanelli: basses · Schola gregoriana: Stefano Baldi, Stefano Buschini (celebrant), Paolo Mettifogo, Mario Mori, special guest Luciano Bonci, tenor in “Veni creator spiritus”
  • Historical Period: Humanism and Renaissance
  • Code: TC 552902
  • Edition: JULY 2008
  • Barcode: 8007194104462
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:09:12

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search