Pasquini’s reputation rested above all on his legendary virtuosity as a performer and composer of keyboard music.
Indeed, it must have been a unique experience to hear him improvise at S. Maria in Aracoeli and S. Maria Maggiore (where he was organist for over half a century) or in ensemble with Corelli, Scarlatti and Lulier.
He was also an excellent pedagogue and taught an entire generation of harpsichordists such as Gasparini, Gaffi, Zipoli, della Ciaia, Krieger and Muffat, just to mention a few.
The organ compositions included here come from the autograph manuscript L. 215 at the Staatsbibliothek in Berlin, which contains the “So­nate per Gra­vecembalo, composte dal Sig. Bernardo Pa­squini e scritte di sua mano in questo libro. A. D. 1702 Aprile” (“Sonatas for harpsichord, composed by Sig. Bernardo Pasquini and written by his own hand in this book. April 1702 A. D.”).
The only exception is the Introduzione e Pastorale found in the miscellanea DD. 55 preserved at the Museo Internazionale e Biblioteca della Musica of Bologna.
To his contemporaries, however, Pasquini’s vocal compositions were as well-known as his instrumental works.
In addition to the many operas, oratorios, cantatas, and motets for solo voice.


Disco n.1
Pasquini, Bernardo
Quaenam portenta
  1 - Quaenam portenta (7:10)
Canzon franzesa
  2 - Canzon franzesa (6:34)
Ricercare in D Minor, "sol re"
  3 - Ricercare in D Minor, sol re (4:37)
  4 - Corrente (4:04)
O benedicte Jesu
  5 - O benedicte Jesu (7:35)
Introduzione e Pastorale
  6 - Introduzione e Pastorale (5:00)
Passagagli in D Minor
  7 - Passagagli in D Minor (2:09)
Capriccio in G Major, "sol re ut"
  8 - Capriccio in G Major, sol re ut (4:29)
Iam me ligastis
  9 - Iam me ligastis (9:00)
Variazioni in G Minor
  10 - Variazioni in G Minor (4:28)
Toccata con lo Scherzo del cucco
  11 - Toccata con lo Scherzo del cucco (4:27)
Toccata No. 3 in G Major
  12 - Toccata No. 3 in G Major (2:25)
  • Performers: Ensemble Alea Musica · Camilla De Falleiro, soprano · Cristina Rosário, mezzosoprano · Amélie Chemin, cello · Masako Art, harp · Giovanni Caruso, theorbo · Alexandra Nigito, organ and conductor
  • Historical Period: Early Baroque
  • Code: TC 631802
  • Edition: MARCH 2009
  • Barcode: 8007194104721
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 12
  • Total duration: 01:01:54

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search