Alessandro Scarlatti was born in Palermo on 2 May 1660. In 1678 he married Antonia Anzalone by whom he had ten children, including the great Domenico.
When still quite young, Scarlatti made himself known in Roman musical circles through his pastoral fable Gli equivoci del sembiante performed in 1679.
In addition to writing operas, Scarlatti tried his hand at the cantata – one of the musical genres preferred by the nobility of the time – and sacred music.
The writing of sacred compositions became a professional obligation following the composer”s appointment as maestro di cappella at the church of S. Gerolamo della Carità.
The war of succession to the Spanish throne convinced Scarlatti to abandon Naples from 1703 to 1706, and again in 1708, when he was employed in Rome as maestro di cappella of the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.
With the calming of political waters internationally and in the viceroyalty of Naples, where Austrian domination replaced the Spanish, Scarlatti returned to his old post of director of the Real Cappella at the beginning of 1709.
There he again took up his operatic activities. It is no coincidence that his last important operas were performed not in Naples but in Rome where he often sojourned at this time. Here, respected and esteemed, but in actual fact isolated, Scarlatti passed the last years of his life after 1722. He died on 22 October 1725


Disco n.1
Scarlatti, Alessandro
Quae est ista
  1 - Quae est ista (1:00)
  2 - Haec est aurora (4:04)
  3 - Unde formae tam bellae (5:01)
  4 - Procul quaeso torpores (0:32)
  5 - O nimis clara lux (1:40)
  6 - Quis tuam decantabit (0:20)
  7 - Ave lactea (5:40)
Diligam te
  8 - Diligam te Domine (3:04)
  9 - Cantabo Domino (2:28)
  10 - Benedicam Dominum (4:04)
  11 - Exaltabo te Domine (2:10)
  12 - Domine Deus salutis meae (3:33)
Properate fideles
  13 - Properate fideles (3:50)
  14 - O quam dulces (0:55)
  15 - Quot odores (2:56)
  16 - Ad rivulos amoris (1:57)
  17 - O fluida vita (2:40)
  18 - Sitientes venite (2:20)
  19 - Qui puro semper corde (4:00)
Est dies trophei
  20 - Est dies trophei (10:42)
Salve regina a 4
  21 - Salve regina a 4 (10:48)
  • Performers: Il Ruggiero, strumenti d’epoca – soprano: Ilaria Galgani; contralto: Susanna Anselmi; tenore: Luca Casalin; basso: Daniele Tonini – primo violino: Francesco La Bruna; secondo violino: Hedwig Raffeiner; violoncello: Franziska Romaner; tiorba: Terrel Stone; clavicembalo: Emanuela Marcante; secondo clavicembalo: Zeno Zaccaria
  • Historical Period: Late Baroque
  • Code: TC 661904
  • Edition: 1996
  • Barcode: 8007194100662
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 21
  • Total duration: 01:13:30

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search