This series of CDs by Tactus and Modo Antiquo represents the first complete recording of the cantatas of Antonio Vivaldi.
Up until now, these works have appeared only sporadically on record, yet they constitute quite an important body of works in Vivaldi’s total production.
Dedicated exclusively to female voices, the cantatas have here been divided according to the classifications used in the Ryom catalogue: cantatas for soprano and continuo, cantatas for contralto and continuo, cantatas for soprano and instruments, cantatas for contralto and instruments.
Modo Antiquo has approached this first complete recording of the cantatas by Vivaldi with full respect for the original texts and the performance practices of the period.
Modo Antiquo has based these performances on original manuscripts, while at times consulting the critical edition of the cantatas, recently completed by the Istituto Italiano Antonio Vivaldi.
For the purpose of providing the richest and most multifaceted image of the diverse compositions, the cantatas have been entrusted to different soloists, each of whom appear on a different recording in the series.


Disco n.1
Vivaldi, Antonio
Si levi dal pensier, RV 665
  1 - Aria: Si Levi dal pensier (2:39)
  2 - Recitative: Pastori vaghi e infidi (1:11)
  3 - Aria: Vanne sull'Adria, infido (2:36)
Par che tardo oltre il costume, RV 662
  4 - Aria: Par che tardo oltre il costume (6:56)
  5 - Recitative: Quando tu d'Anfitrite (0:59)
  6 - Aria: Allor che in cielo (3:46)
Sorge vermiglia in ciel la bella Aurora, RV 667
  7 - Recitative: Sorge vermiglia in ciel la bella Aurora (1:31)
  8 - Aria: Nasce il sole ed io sospiro (5:50)
  9 - Recitative: Ah, Silivia, tu sei quella (1:37)
  10 - Aria: Ardi, svena, impiaga, atterra (3:49)
Fonti del pianto, RV 656
  11 - Aria: Fonti del pianto (6:43)
  12 - Recitative: Come cor più spietato (1:13)
  13 - Aria: Guarda negl'occhi miei (3:20)
Usignoletto bello, RV 796
  14 - Aria: Usignoletto bello (3:05)
  15 - Recitative: Ma tu rapido fuggi, e tra più folti (1:12)
  16 - Aria: Come te cantando anch'io (5:00)
Del suo natio rigore, RV 653
  17 - Recitative: Del suo natio rigore (1:21)
  18 - Aria: Quei begl'occhi io pianger vidi (5:03)
  19 - Recitative: Ah, che d'Amore (1:13)
  20 - Aria: Sempre invvano il dio d'amore (2:59)
  • Performers: Nicki Kennedy : soprano – Modo Antiquo, su strumenti d’epoca – violoncello : Bettina Hoffmann; tiorba e chitarra : Gian Luca Lastraioli; clavicembalo : Giulia Nuti; direttore: Federico Maria Sardelli
  • Historical Period: Late Baroque
  • Code: TC 672209
  • Edition: 1999
  • Barcode: 8007194101294
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 20
  • Total duration: 01:02:11

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search