It is regrettable that this composer, once famous in Naples and in many European cities, is today unjustly forgotten and unknown.
Having trained at the conservatory of Santa Maria di Loreto, Giuseppe Sellitto began his career as a composer at the age of 25 with the opera Amor d’un ombra e gelosia d’un aura (libretto by C.S. Capeci), which was performed in the spring of 1725 at the Teatro Nuovo.
He was active primarily in Naples as the author of comic operas and intermezzos (La franchezza delle donne, Il Finto pazzo per amore, I due baroni, Le innocenti gelosie) but he also wrote serious operas on librettos by Zeno and Pariati (Sesostri, Nitocri), Metastasio (Siface), Saddumene and Salvi, works which were performed in Venice Florence, Bologna and elsewhere.
In the chronicles of Neapolitan spectacles, his name appears alongside those of Pergolesi and Hasse–“the ancient and approved” musicians admired by the king–as well as “some of the good youths who were in Naples and had given a sample of their worth…” such as Logroscino e Manna.
Paris also attracted Sellitto: he traveled there in 1752 in the theatrical company of Eustachio Bambini in order to oversee the performance of one of his intermezzos, Il Cinese rimpatriato, a work which had perhaps already served as an intermezzo to some operas in Italy.
Here it was staged by the Académie Royale, together with other works by Pergolesi (La Serva Padrona), Orlandini, Latilla, Cocchi, Da Capua, Leo, and Jommelli (this company of the Buffons would go on to unleash a celebrated Querelle…)Returning to Naples in 1760, Sellitto became the organist at San Giacomo degli Spagnuoli.


Disco n.1
Sellitto, Giuseppe
Drusilla e Strabone
  1 - Intermezzo No. 1: Aria: Sconsolata vedovella (1:58)
  2 - Intermezzo No. 1: Recitative: Sen' venne giorni (2:51)
  3 - Intermezzo No. 1: Aria: Senta, senta in cortesia (6:40)
  4 - Intermezzo No. 1: Recitative: Non dubiti signora (4:12)
  5 - Intermezzo No. 1: Aria: Lei mi guarda e poi sospira (5:37)
  6 - Intermezzo No. 1: Recitative: Parli con liberta (2:35)
  7 - Intermezzo No. 1: Duet: Son ragazza son bellina (3:30)
  8 - Intermezzo No. 2: Aria: Orletta e cambraia (1:44)
  9 - Intermezzo No. 2: Recitative: Viva Sergio, viva (3:17)
  10 - Intermezzo No. 2: Aria: Ti ci ho colto scellerato (3:19)
  11 - Intermezzo No. 2: Recitative: No, non lo niego (3:19)
  12 - Intermezzo No. 2: Aria: Dovrei svenarti (4:04)
  13 - Intermezzo No. 2: Recitative: Or si che m'addormenti (2:03)
  14 - Intermezzo No. 2: Duet: Un altra volta ancora (2:27)
Sarri, Domenico
Pria di lasciarti
  15 - Pria di lasciarti (4:40)
La mia costanza
  16 - La mia costanza (5:29)
  • Performers: Antonella Tatulli: soprano – Angelo De Leonardis: bariton -La Confraternita de” Musici – Cosimo Prontera, conductor
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 706901
  • Edition: 2002
  • Barcode: 8007194102390
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 16
  • Total duration: 00:56:50

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search