Giuseppe Giordani (1751-1798)

The great musical writing by Giuseppe Giordani, born into the great eighteenthcentury Neapolitan school and object of recent musicological interest, here emerges in all its variety.
This CD includes his work for soloists and choir with concertante organ accompaniment according to a common practice in the Italian choirs yet, still very little considered (whose origins are found back in 1602 with the Cento Concerti Ecclesiastici by Ludovico Viadana).
The “Goffredo Petrassi” choir, led by Stefano Cucci, uses exceptional soloists for an appropriate appreciation of the sacred music repertoire by Giordani, author of great depth in the European Classicism panorama that saw his operatic works being represented, not only in the major Italian theaters, but also in Lisbon, Madrid and Dresden.


Messa e Vespro per soli, coro e organo
1. Kyrie, Christe, Kyrie 4:52
2. Gloria 9:05
3. Domine ad adiuvandum 2:04
4. Dixit Dominus 6:21
5. De torrente 2:54
6. Laudate pueri 3:16
7. Suscitans a terra 3:16
8. Magnificat 4:47

9. Tantum ergo II 4:40

da ‘Offertori per tutto l’anno’
10. Tui sunt caeli 1:41
11. Gaudeamus omnes 4:55
12. Constitues eos 2:08
13. Justitiae Domini 3:30
14. Oravi Deum 3:12
15. O gloriose martyrum 6:02
16. Domine Deus 1:45
17. Dextera Domini 1:40
  • Composer: Giuseppe Giordani (1751-1798)
  • Performers: Marinella Pennicchi, soprano
    Chiarastella Onorati, alto
    Carlo Putelli, tenor
    Davide Malvestio, bass
    Choir «Goffredo Petrassi»
    Alessandro Albenga, organ
    Stefano Cucci, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Italo Vescovo · Ugo Gironacci
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 750702
  • Edition: July 2016
  • Barcode: 8007194106381
  • Set: 1
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording
  • Texts: Sacred Works

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search