Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909) · Muzio Clementi (1752-1832) · Alfredo Casella (1883-1947)

A plunge among the sunken composers of Italian chamber music and the salvaged ones. The programme recorded in this CD is a ticket for a journey of a century and a half, that is the distance between the composition of the Sonata “con accompagnamento” by Muzio Clementi (1792) and its transformation into the Trio ortodosso by Alfredo Casella (1936). An intermediate stop is represented by the Trio op. 59 by Giuseppe Martucci (1882). The route of this journey retraces a history that is not unimportant or unsurprising: it summarises the significance and vicissitudes of the chamber music produced by Italian composers from the middle of the eighteenth century onwards. In many texts of music history this topic is relegated in a note, or at most is dealt with in a paragraph, not even a chapter: an upgraded echo of the Fascist nationalism and dislike for Puccini that, for ideological reasons rather than for a historical or critical conviction, made themselves useful in raising the issue in the twentieth century. This recording, which presents a performance for piano, violin and cello, is a tiny artistic compensation, and an aesthetic and formal clarification. It leads us to consider and understand the role that Italian composers played also in the specific area of non-theatrical music.


Disco n.1
Giuseppe Martucci
Trio n. 1 in do maggiore op. 59
  1 - Allegro (13:44)
  2 - Scherzo. Allegro molto – Trio (Allegretto) – Allegro molto (8:02)
  3 - Andante con moto (10:22)
  4 - Finale. Allegro risoluto (7:44)
Alfredo Casella
Siciliana e Burlesca op. 23b
  5 - Siciliana. Andantino languido e dolce (5:50)
  6 - Burlesca. Presto vivace (3:28)
Muzio Clementi
Trio op. 28 n. 2 (rearrangement by Alfredo Casella)
  7 - Allegro amabile (5:28)
  8 - Polonese. Un poco andante (3:22)
  9 - Rondò. Molto vivace (Presto) (3:52)
  • Composer: Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909) · Muzio Clementi (1752-1832) · Alfredo Casella (1883-1947)
  • Performers: Hèsperos Piano Trio
    Filippo Lama, violino
    Stefano Guarino, violoncello
    Riccardo Zadra, pianoforte
  • Musicological Text: Angelo Foletto
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC850006
  • Edition: July 2022
  • Barcode: 8007194107753
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 9
  • Total duration: 61:58
  • Notes: Recorded at MetròRec Recording Studio, Riva del Garda (TN) Italy, April 2021
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search