Marco Enrico Bossi (1861-1925)

Marco Enrico Bossi (Born Salò, 1861 – died at sea between New York and Le Havre, 1925), studied at the Milan Conservatory under Polibio Fumagalli (organ), Francesco Sangalli (piano), Carlo Boniforti, Cesare Dominiceti and Amilcare Ponchielli (composition). He was appointed organist and maestro di cappella at Como Cathedral (1881-1889), taught the organ at the Naples Conservatory (1890-1895) and was director of the Conservatories and taught composition in Venice (1895-1902), Bologna (1902?1911) and Roma (1916-1923).
Bossi was a famous performer, composer and teacher (he reorganised the syllabuses of the Conservatories), and was the first internationally famous Italian concert artist.
He was conferred the highest ranks in the Kingdom, became an honorary member of the most prestigious foreign and Italian Academies and enjoyed the esteem and friendship of great musicians and men of letters.
Amongst these there were Giuseppe Verdi – who wrote from Busseto: «…it goes without saying that all your compositions are written with great mastery…» as well as Arrigo Boito, Giacomo Puccini, Jules Massenet, Camille Saint-Saëns, Giovanni Pascoli and Gabriele D’Annunzio.
This recording is based on the critical edition of the Complete Organ Works by Marco Enrico Bossi published by Carrara (Bergamo), whose editorial committee is made up of Andrea Macinanti, Francesco Tasini, Luca Salvadori, Wijnand van de Pol. It has been chosen to use instruments built during Bossi’s lifetime by organ-builders he thought highly of, using organs built at the time the recorded pieces were composed.


1. Marcia di processione op. 68 [1890] 8:06
Six pièces pour orgue op. 70 [1891]:
2. Prélude 3:36
3. Musette 3:55
4. Choral 3:59
5. Scherzo 3:37
6. Cantabile 4:01
7. Alleluia-Final 3:15
8. Marcia [ricostruzione di / reconstruction by Luca Salvadori] 4:32
Deux Pièces op. 94 [1893]:
9. Elévation 6:57
10. Noël 4:08
Cinque pezzi op. 104 [1895]:
11. Entrée Pontifical 4:06
12. Ave Maria 5:51
13. Offertoire 3:54
14. Résignation 4:33
15. Rédemption 5:24
16. Frammento in fa minore 1:45
17. Entrata
  • Composer: Marco Enrico Bossi (1861-1925)
  • Performers: Andrea Macinanti, organ
  • Musicological Text: Andrea Macinanti
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 862720
  • Edition: June 2014
  • Barcode: 8007194105858
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:15:36
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording · World Premiere Recording · Organ Pietro Bernasconi, 1892 – Church of Confraternity of S. Bernardino, Vercelli · Organ Beniamino Zanin, 1914 – Church of S. Zenone, Aviano (PN) · Organ Beniamino Zanin, 1896 – Church of S. Croce, Casarsa della Delizia (PN) · Organ Beniamino Zanin, 1899 – Church S. Andrea Apostolo, Sequals (PN).

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search