Virgilio Ranzato (1883-1937)

The fame enjoyed by Virgilio Ranzato, composer, concert performer and appreciated conductor, declined inexorably at the end of the Second World War when only two yet very famous operettas remained in his performed repertoire: «Cin-ci -là», and «Il paese dei campanelli».
In fact Ranzato was a prolific and multifaceted musician. He composed symphonic poems, chamber and orchestra music, danceable songs, soundtracks, one opera and twenty operettas, making him one of the most central characters in the musical panorama of the early twentieth century.
Paolo Mora and Milo Martani on this album address the vast repertoire the composer dedicated to the duo par excellence of chamber music: the works for violin and piano, delivering an interesting crosssection of the most interesting themes of the musical literature of the time: serenades, prayers, dances, exotic atmospheres, intimate or carefree moments flourishing thanks to the writing of Ranzato, skilfully moving between instrumental virtuosity and the pathos of the crepuscular aura of the beginning of the new century.


1. Romanza senza parole Op. 2 n. 1 3:55
2. Danse Espagnole Op. 12 n. 1 [A Cesar Thomson] 1:40
3. Berceuse Op. 12 n. 3 2:47
4. Meditation Op. 13 [A Romeo Gerosa] 4:10
5. Galopade 1:31
6. Serenata 2:41
7. La canzone d’amore [Per il dramma cinematogra co «La canzone del fuoco»] 2:51
8. La preghiera della sera 4:07
9. Il cuculo Op. 36 - Scherzo in la minore 3:27
10. Serenata triste 3:40
11. Serenade galante [A Cesar Thomson] 2:52
12. Serenata Andalusa Op. 41 [A Teresina Tua] 5:34
13. Farfalla intorno al lume Op. 42 - Scherzo [A Teresina Tua] 2:12
14. Il tamburino arabo - Impressione per violino e pianoforte 2:48
15. Nell’ora dell’Ave Maria. Bozzetto Op. 44 3:31
16. Aubade 2:58
17. Capriccio ungherese 7:11
18. Serenata Coquette 3:29
19. Arlecchinata 1:28
20. Danza di libellule [A Virginio Neri] 3:49
  • Composer: Virgilio Ranzato (1883-1937)
  • Performers: Paolo Mora, violino
    Milo Martani, pianoforte
  • Musicological Text: Luigi Monti
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 881801
  • Edition: April 2018
  • Barcode: 8007194106589
  • Set: 1
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search