Luciano Simoni (1932-2010)

After the album dedicated to chamber music [tc 931901] by the composer Luciano Simoni – passed away in 2010 – in this cd Tactus is presenting his Missa Solemnis, a large composition dedicated in 1987 to the Pope Giovanni Paolo ii (premiere in Bologna and later in Poland in Wroclaw), immediately enjoying considerable success. Simoni’s Mass certainly reflects the inner needs of a believing composer who adheres with passion and faith to the depth of the sacred texts, as his own words are explaining to us: «What is represented in my Missa is the descent of God towards man, who is then raised towards Him […], in my work there is the anxiety and fear of contemporary mankind, there is the constant, unceasing human tension towards salvation, where only Christian hope can be a safe haven.».


Disc n.1
Luciano Simoni
Missa solemnis per soli, coro a quattro voci e orchestra
1 – Kyrie eleison (13:10)
2 – Gloria in excelsis Deo (13:26)
3 – Credo in unum Deum (21:16)
4 – Sanctus (12:44)
5 – Agnus Dei (18:37)

  • Composer: Luciano Simoni (1932-2010)
  • Performers: Edith Borsos, soprano; Mihai Lazar, tenor; Orchestra and chorus of the Târgu Mures Philharmonic; Vasile Cazan, choir master; Romeo Rîmbu, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Luciano Simoni
  • Historical Period: Historical twentieth century
  • Code: TC931903
  • Edition: June 2023
  • Barcode: 8007194107968
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 5
  • Total duration: 79:26
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search