Francesco Carta (1969)

It is ironic, but also profoundly right, that the words which came silently out of the pen of Emily Dickinson (1830-1886) nowadays are heard frequently in concert halls, and elsewhere too. In 1992, Carlton Lowenberg, in his book Musicians wrestle everywhere: Emily Dickinson and Music, listed no less than 1,615 compositions based on her texts, by 276 different composers, from 1896 onwards; according to the musicologist Enrico Maria Polimanti, by 2007 this number had almost doubled. In 2018, Francesco Carta’s Dodici romanze su poesie di Emily Dickinson, for soprano and string orchestra, show that the growth of this repertoire is still far from stopping. The selection of poems, however, is new, and intercepts some of the most inspired moments of metaphysical disquiet in Dickinson’s whole work. The Nuova Orchestra Pedrollo di Vicenza directed by Gabriele dal Santo accompanies the soprano Naoka Ohbayashi in the performing of this very particular vision of the poet’s texts by Francesco Carta.


1. Suspense is Hostiler than Death 6:56
2. I can wade Grief 3:07
3. Forever at His side to walk 3:59
4. Some things that fly there be 6:13
5. Success is counted sweetest 3:09
6. Soul, Wilt thou toss again? 6:02
7. The Skies cant keep their secret! 4:27
8. Before I got my eye put out 5:49
9. We grow accustomed to the Dark 4:06
10. I reason, Earth is short 5:04
11. Wild Nights! 3:10
12. ’Tis so much joy! 8:25
  • Composer: Francesco Carta (1969)
  • Performers: Naoka Ohbayashi, soprano
    Nuova Orchestra Pedrollo
    Gabriele Dal Santo, conductor
  • Musicological Text: Marco Bellano
  • Historical Period: Contemporary
  • Code: TC 960301
  • Edition: June 2019
  • Barcode: 8007194107012
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 12
  • Total duration: 01:01:20
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search