Federico Perotti (1993)

This oratorio by the very young composer Federico Perotti tells the story of Franca da Vitalta, a woman from a noble family that, at the age of seven – in 1182 – entered by her own wish into the Benedictine monastery of S. Siro in Piacenza.
At age twenty-three, upon the death of the abbess, she was unanimously elected as new superior mother, and, because of her strict observance of the Benedictine Rule, she was then faced with various conflicts amongst sisters also coming from noble families.
According to the tradition, in 1273 she was canonised by Pope Gregorio X. Her cult is now still strong and alive in the city and province of Piacenza.
Remembered by the Catholic Church on the 26th of April and her remains are now preserved in Piacenza, in the church dedicated to St. Raimondo. Federico Perotti creates a libretto on three temporal levels: the first is set in the years of the saint’s life, the second consisting of the biography that the historian Pier Maria Campi wrote in the early seventeenth century, and the third, external to the actions, is limited to observing and describing the passage of time.


1. Introduzione 2:22
Parte prima - La tempesta
2. Conditor alme siderum 2:54
3. Dov’è il vino che manca? 5:08
4. Franca è troppo rigida e inadatta 1:54
5. In circostanze dure e contrarianti 3:21
6. Lei buona, lei cara 2:46
7. Binia, non mentire! 5:02

Parte seconda - L’incontro
8. Christe redemptor omnium 6:24
9. Mi chiamo Carenzia 5:11
10. Mandata dalla provvidenza 6:39
11. Prendi la strada per il mare 4:45

Parte terza - Montelana
12. Audi benigne conditor 2:20
13. Il signore volendo trattenere un’altra anima 3:20
14. Benedic anima mea Domino 4:35

Parte quarta - Il trapasso
15. Iesu nostra redemptio 3:20
16. Perché rifiuti il medico? 4:34
17. Così lui volle per me 4:19
18. Ci porgeva ricordi salutari 2:57
19. Davanti all’altare 3:20
20. Sorelle vivete nell’onestà 3:54
  • Composer: Federico Perotti (1993)
  • Performers: Carlotta Colombo, Anna Piroli
    Cristina Calzolari, Renato Cadel

    Vox Silvæ Ensemble · Federico Perotti, conductor

  • Musicological Text: Federico Perotti
  • Historical Period: Contemporary
  • Code: TC 991601
  • Edition: June 2019
  • Barcode: 8007194107036
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 20
  • Total duration: 01:19:19
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording
  • Texts: Franca da Vitalta – Oratorio for soloist, choir and instruments

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search