Cristian Carrara (1977)

De Amicis’s tale, which is extremely touching but soberly related, gave Cristian Carrara the idea for the creation of this “little” opera, in which he defines the protagonist, giving him depth of meaning and artistically refined qualities that fully express the great nobility of his inspiration.
In his work as a composer, Carrara has been, and still is, totally committed to dealing with the great theme of the morality of Art, in which he believes sincerely and which he practices in every aspect of his scores.
The score of this opera, in particular, is crystal-clear, “little” in the way it is written, in its number of instruments and singers, in its children’s chorus and even in its texture, which sometimes is quite dense.
But it is “great” in its creative intention: the entire context turns out to be sturdy, terse, so it is dominated and lighted up by a basic intention, that of “protecting” the listeners, provided they are prepared to really listen. In Cristian Carrara’s poetics, Art is an extraordinary instrument of help and involvement.


Quadro I
1. Ouverture 1:49
2. Assenza 5:44
3. Stabat Mater 1:45
4. Dove sei? 1:32
Quadro II
5. La guerra dei bimbi 6:20
6. Giovanni e Caterina 5:03
Quadro III
7. Padri e soldati 5:48
8. Odio e libertà 4:59
Quadro IV
9. Magnificat 5:06
10. Ora, dormi 3:12
Quadro V
11. La casa di campagna 5:25
12. Sull’albero 3:23
13. La caduta 0:47
Quadro VI
14. La libertà. E il suo sapore 3:56
15. Requiem 2:03
16. L’aria sa di te 2:16
17. Libertà 3:09
  • Composer: Cristian Carrara (1977)
  • Performers: Chiara Pieretti · Sergio Vitale · Federico Benetti · Giulia Latella · Alice Molinari

    Choir Arcobaleno dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

    Claudia Morelli, Choirmaster

    Orchestra Giovanile da Camera Fondazione Pergolesi Spontini

    Flavio Emilio Scogna, Conductor

  • Musicological Text: Claudio Strinati
  • Historical Period: Contemporary
  • Code: TC 970303
  • Edition: December 2013
  • Barcode: 8007194105544
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:02:11
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording

    Little Music Drama in six parts

    Inspired by “Cuore” of Edmondo De Amicis

    Commission Festival delle Nazioni, 44ma edizione 2011

    Edition Casa Musicale Sonzogno, Milano

  • Texts: La piccola vedetta lombarda

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search