L uca Marenzio was born in Coccaglio, in the province of Brescia in 1553 andhe died in 1599 in Rome. He was probably the most important artistic figure in the field of polyphony in the last twenty years of the sixteenth century.
Not all of Marenzio”s sacred music is extant, partially as a result of its being overshadowed by his extraordinarily successful madrigals. In the nineteenth century, the scholar Fétis listed five original editions of religious works, but only two of these–the Motecta festorum totius anni (1585) and the posthumous Sacraecantiones (1616)-are still preserved.
A second book of motets for fourvoices (1588), a collection of antiphons for six voices (1595) and a posthumous collection of polychoral motets for twelve voices (1614) have since disappeared.
Fortunately, a vestige of this remarkable repertoire is preserved invarious manuscripts and prints, dateable from approximately 1590 to the first decades of the seventeenth century.


Disco n.1
Marenzio, Luca
Sacrum coelesti
  1 - Sacrum coelesti (2:45)
Jubilate Deo
  2 - Jubilate Deo (3:53)
Te Deum laudamus
  3 - Te Deum laudamus (6:53)
Laudate Dominum
  4 - Laudate Dominum (4:07)
Si filius honorabilis
  5 - Si filius honorabilis (3:27)
Exsurgat Deus
  6 - Exsurgat Deus (3:55)
  7 - Magnificat (6:22)
Alma redemptoris Mater
  8 - Alma redemptoris Mater (3:39)
Deus venerunt gentes
  9 - Deus venerunt gentes (3:45)
Lamentabatur Jacob
  10 - Lamentabatur Jacob (3:42)
Cantate Domino
  11 - Cantate Domino (4:23)
Super flumina Babylonis
  12 - Super flumina Babylonis (4:57)
Nunc facta est salus
  13 - Nunc facta est salus (4:00)
Iniquos odio habui
  14 - Iniquos odio habui (2:52)
Missa Iniquos odio habui
  15 - Kyrie (2:07)
  16 - Gloria (4:12)
Ave maris stella
  17 - Ave maris stella (7:47)
  • Composer: MARENZIO LUCA
  • Performers: Progetto Musica – cantus: Simona Nicolo, Maria Francesca Garbaccio; altus: Monica Tressoldi, Mara Colombo; tenor: Giovanni Fiandino, Mauro Bonfanti; bassus: Carlo Cavagna, Domenico Monetta; violino: Davide Monti; viola alto: Fabio Francia; viola tenore: Massimo Vivaldi; basso di violino: Diego Cerofolini; viola da gamba: Luca Franco Ferrari; violone: Roberto Bevilaqua; cornetto: Alberto Rossi; tromba naturale: Alessio Molinari; trombone alto: Roberta Sangalli; trombone tenore: Mauro Sangalli; organo: Silvano Arioli
  • Historical Period: Humanism and Renaissance
  • Code: TC 551303
  • Edition: 1998
  • Barcode: 8007194101072
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 17
  • Total duration: 01:12:46

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search