Giuseppe Millico (1737-1802)

It can be said that the harp is the fil rouge of the entire production of Giuseppe Millico: famous as castrato singer, great friend of Christoph Willibald Gluck, generous teacher and excellent harpist, he gave shape to his art within the Neapolitan musical environment, probably on the “Viggianese” harp.
He composed twelve harp sonatas dedicated to Princess Maria Teresa and Maria Luisa Borbone, and about eighty “Canzonette”, that he used to play himself on the harp, as well as two duets (unfortunately lost) for harp and violin.
In this CD we find the complete collection of sonatas, the surviving duet, and some vocal gems of his production on the texts typical of the Arcadia; Emanuela Degli Esposti’s harp on the side of Daniela Nuzzoli’s violin and Miho Kamiya’s voice, is the protagonist of this rediscovery, the result of studies and researches by musicologist Alice Talignani.


1. Sonata IV (Largo, Allegro) 1:51
2. Ho sparso tante lacrime 2:07
3. Sonata VII (Largo, Allegro, Allegro) 1:29
4. La farfalletta che fra l’erbetta 1:09
5. Del mio destino ingiusto 7:03
6. Sonata X (Largo, Allegro) 5:27
7. Fille se mai pretendi 1:19
8. Sonata XII (Allegro maestoso, Rondo) 3:24
9. Alla vezzosa Fille 1:58
10. Sonata VIII (Allegro) - Sonata IX (Largo, Allegro) 3:21
11. Per che sul mio crine 1:48
12. Sonata VI (Andantino, Largo, Allegro) 2:23
13. Se i tuoi vezzosi lumi 2:17
14. Sonata V (Andantino, Allegro) - Sonata I (Largo, Allegro) 2:41
15. Della tua rea perfi dia 1:42
16. Sonata II (Largo, Allegro) - Sonata III (Largo, Tempo di minuè) 3:30
17-18. Duetto per violino ed arpa (Andantino [6:33], Allegro [5:28]) 12:02
19-21. Sonata XI (Larghetto [5:56], Allegro [4:23], Minuetto [2:47]) 13:06
  • Composer: Giuseppe Millico (1737-1802)
  • Performers: Emanuela Degli Esposti, harp
    Miho Kamiya, soprano
    Daniela Nuzzoli, violin
  • Musicological Text: Alice Talignani
  • Historical Period: Classicism
  • Code: TC 731303
  • Edition: October 2017
  • Barcode: 8007194106626
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 21
  • Total duration: 01:10:56
  • Notes: World Premiere Recording
  • Texts: Harp sonatas · Canzonets for Voice and Harp · Duet for Harp and Violin

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search