Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909)

Highly appreciated by Franz Liszt and Anton Rubinstein, Giuseppe Martucci was a great concert performer and music teacher (amongst his pupils we can name Guido Alberto Fano and Ottorino Respighi). Nevertheless, he was also a great composer even though, as at to day, his music went almost totally forgotten.
In fact, he can be considered as one of those artists giving new life to the Italian symphonic and chamber music through the delicate passage from the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th when, through the work of some illuminated musicians started its detachment from the theatrical fashion that dominated the scene for over a century.
Within this CD we can find his complete production for cello and piano that, thanks to the great performance of two virtuosos like Jacopo Francini and Alessandro Deljavan, is here finally receiving full justice for its fantastic quality.


Sonata in fa diesis minore op. 52 (1880)
1. Allegro giusto 15:03
2. Scherzo (Allegro molto - Trio) 6:24
3. Intermezzo (Andantino ebile) 4:19
4. Final (Allegro) 10:07

Due romanze per violoncello
con accompagnamento di pianoforte op. 72 (1890)
5. Andantino con moto 3:26
6. Moderato 5:16

Tre pezzi per violoncello e pianoforte op. 69 (1888)
7. Moderato 9:56
8. Andante 9:48
9. Allegro 8:39
  • Composer: Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909)
  • Performers: Jacopo Francini, cello
    Alessandro Deljavan, piano
  • Musicological Text: Jacopo Francini
  • Historical Period: Romanticism
  • Code: TC 851303
  • Edition: April 2016
  • Barcode: 8007194105889
  • Set: 1
  • Total tracks: 8
  • Total duration: 01:13:03

Distributore e Online Stores

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search